Preparation


(February 5th, 2010)

Dear Planet Earth,

I’ve been so jealous of Connor this whole week since he’s been given the advantage to miss school for a couple of days while his “snowfall” clears up. I feel like I need that time to relax and be care-free again. Recently I’ve started to go to a preparation class for the ACT and SAT on Thursdays. I took a practice test last week for English. I felt like I did pretty well on the grammar section but not as well on the reading. I’m just not that great at reading under a strict time limit. Of course, I have started to read a bit more recently, but I like to take it slow so that I understand everything to my greatest ability. Why must reading be so radically adjusted for exams? I really wonder when in my life my boss is going to give me a sheet of paper to read in eight minutes and then answer a whole assortment of questions based on what I remember. I didn’t even get to the last reading of the test since I was still trying to figure out my answers for the other three. Luckily there are other factors in determining whether I am worthy of getting into a certain college rather than just testing. Anyway, I’ll have to continue it for the next couple of weeks before the test starts. I have been getting rides to school from a cab. My mom repetitively asks me to ask someone for a ride, but I’m just not that social. It really would take a great effort for me to ask. I had attempted to bring the topic up in computer science to someone in the same class as me, but someone else in the class turned it into a joke and then I just decided to never bring it up again.

Tutoring was a blast on Friday. I had an opportunity to actually teach someone a little something about Mathematics. Every tutoring session is completely up to the chance of the draw; I was so excited when the luck of the draw went to me. There was a student who came in (most likely a sophomore) who needed help with Advanced Algebra. I kindly accepted the challenge and asked the boy what he needed help with. To my surprise, he had told me that he wanted to look ahead at future chapters in his textbook that he had not gone over yet in class. I was a little skeptical that this would turn out well, but it ended up being a blast. I was finally given the opportunity to teach this over-achiever something new! I covered several random chapters that he had flipped through in the book at random and taught him everything he needed to know on the subject. I felt so honored to be giving out knowledge instead of just helping a student master a topic.

One response to this post.

  1. aww, michael no need to be jealous. the past week was hardly relaxing. i was pretty apprehensive and anxious all four days I had out, including today. i wanted to go back to school badly cause im losing my spring break and days off my summer break, which sucks because i could be using those days to see you! :C and so maybe that makes you feel better that the past week hasn’t been a relaxing all-expenses paid trip to the bahamas or anything.

    i wish i could have been in your computer science class, i would have definitely given you a ride even if i didnt even have to go to the sat/act practice 😉

    and i’m glad you had a blast with teaching the guy some new math concepts. hey, who knows, maybe you’ll be a math teacher or professor when you grow up ;D

Leave a Reply

