Macaroni and Cheese!


(January 8th, 2010)

Dear Planet Earth,

I was so delighted to finally come home from this long, dreadful week at school. I have been anticipating it all day and I’d worked up a massive headache from schoolwork by the last period. The walk home wasn’t so smooth, since I had to tread through deep snow on the sidewalks, unable to pass on the busy streets, but I was glad that I even made it to my doorstep. I’m glad to finally get a nice relaxing break from all the stress. It seemed as though as each day went by, the load of work increased. I was pleading for a snow day to come on Thursday, but the weather never responded back. Luckily I had a little break on Wednesday, which was the day of cooking club!  I had been called out of class the day before to answer a couple of questions for the yearbook, since I am one of the people in charge. I was so proud to be recognized; I deeply answered each question they threw at me in order to give them enough to write about.  By the time Wednesday came around I felt like I was in the groove of things, ready to cook up a new dish with some of my friends/ table mates. To my surprise we were cooking an all-time favorite: Macaroni and Cheese!

Yes, Mac & Cheese, an all-time favorite. How rather intriguing that my website and this delicious meal correspond. It sparked an idea inside me: how about including a delicious recipe of my own? No no no… I’m not talking about the cheap, microwaveable macaroni dinners that have a foul taste. I’m talking about a smooth, creamy, scrumptious meal that will cause a group of hungry barbarians to attack and devour it. Or, at least in my own case of trying this recipe. I was unable to grasp a photo of the bowl because people were already starting to take portions from it by the time I got my camera out. Anyway, here is what results when you cook this recipe:


Everyone starts to go after it!

Any delicious Macaroni and Cheese meal is based on how creamy the cheese sauce is. If it tastes bitter, dry, or chunky in the dish, it would be best find a better recipe, such as the one provided:

You will need just five ingredients to make the most gooey cheese sauce you’ve ever tasted in your life!
2 T. Butter
2 T. Flour
1/2 Tsp. Salt
1 cup cheese
1 cup milk

Instructions:
1. Melt butter in a medium sauce pan over low heat, continuously stirring. Once melted remove from heat. (It’s best to do this so that the mixture doesn’t get burnt on the bottom)

2. Stir in flour and salt to make a paste; add milk a little at a time

3. Return the pan to the stove-top and cook over medium heat, stirring until thickened. Once thickened, remove it from the heat again. (It is best to remove it from the heat because when working with dairy products, they tend to overcook very easily, which causes the cheese sauce to come out not as smooth).

4. Add the type of cheese preferred. It is better to add in a variety of different kinds in order to have an interesting, unique flavor. Stir it until it is completely melted

Follow the instructions on the back of a box of macaroni. Usually one cup of noodles is enough to feed one person, so multiply that by the total number of people intended to feed. Once the noodles are done, you can just pour it in a bowl, top it with the cheese sauce and mix.

You can also add some spice to it afterword to give your mac and cheese a kick. I recommend sprinkling some onion powder on top; I just love the flavor it adds to the dish. If you can take the heat, try hot sauce as well! Try experimenting with other toppings, you never know what you are going to find!

The cheese recipe could also be used for fondue, and it can also be used to top other foods such as different types of vegetables. Have fun working with the recipe.

Bon Appétit!

2 responses to this post.

  1. we gotta make that sometime

  2. Looks better then my sisters. I can’t cook for my life. I put a pot in the microwave before trying to make some kind of canned food.

Leave a Reply

