Crêpes!


Hello everyone and Happy New Year! I felt like sharing a recipe that I had prepared a couple of days ago for some delicious crêpes. I’ve been dieing to make them ever since I got something to top it with! My creation is shown above in the form of a dessert crêpe: decked out with chocolate syrup, a french vanilla ice cream filling, nutella, and powdered sugar! Of course, crêpes can be prepared in several ways, including a breakfast crêpe (with fruit  whipped cream, or pancake syrup), or a savory crêpe (with cheese, turkey, chicken and/or vegetables). Depending on what kind of mood one is in, a crêpe can be prepared to fit that style! Below is a basic recipe that I used to make the one above. It serves about four people, so make sure there are some hungry guests who would be delighted to try some as well!

Ingredients:
2 Large Eggs
2/3 a cup of milk
1/2 a cup of flour
1 tablespoon of butter
1 tablespoon of granulated sugar
1/4 a teaspoon of salt

1. To start off, melt the butter in a microwave. It ought to take only 30 seconds depending on the type of microwave.
2. Mix together all of the ingredients in a mixing bowl:  the eggs, milks, flour, butter,  sugar and salt. It could take a little while! The lumps should disappear after about a minute or so. Even if there are still some small lumps afterwards, it really shouldn’t affect the taste or texture in the end
3. Place a skillet of medium size on a stove top at medium heat. Apply some form of grease to the surface. It is best to use vegetable oil or a small amount of butter. Sprinkle a small amount of water on the pan to see if it is warm enough. If the water starts to dance (aka sizzle), then you are set!
4. Measure 1/4 a cup of the batter and pour onto the hot skillet. Tilt the pan so that the batter flows to clear the empty areas on the pan. Once the edges of the crêpe start to turn a little brown, it is ready to flip! For the first crêpe, this may take a while, but the time required on the skillet will decrease as the cook makes more. I’ve found that it is best to use a spatula to scrape the edges off the sides of the pan before flipping it so that it does not collapse into pieces. Let the crêpe cook on the opposite side (it shouldn’t take as long to cook).
5. Dress with toppings and eat immediately. These crêpes cool off very quickly!

Have some fun spicing up your crêpe! I had one other thing to say: the Mikeroni page is now going to be merged in with the homepage. All of my past entries will still be located on the page, but the ones for 2010 and later will come out in the form of posts. I’ve found this to be more efficient and visible to viewers, which is why I’ve decided to bring this into effect. Anyway, I hope everyone had a great New Years. I decided to spend mine at my friends house this year, which is a complete change of plan for me. Anyway, I came around six and we had snacks, played video games, and watched a movie. Most importantly, we tuned in to watch the ball drop in Times Square. I barely recognized it since my trip there during last spring break; there were so many people cheering and partying! Anyway, some wise guy decided to light some fireworks at midnight, so we all went outside in the below-freezing weather and started yelling and screaming. A while later, my friend showed me how to use my iPod, since I had just gotten one a couple of days ago (I know, I don’t really keep with the times *heh*). iTunes still bothers me greatly! I still am confused how to navigate its many tabs, pages, and clickables. I do hope I will eventually get used to it. In the mean time, I’ve been relying on my family to set it up for me. So far it hasn’t been great, since one wrong move in syncing it with my computer completely clears away all of the songs I had put on it. I slept over at my friends house that night, it was just so late to get a ride. Luckily there was a guest bedroom: it was sweltering hot during the night, but I managed. My friend told me that I finally fell asleep around 2:25am -exhausted. I don’t know how, but he managed to fall to sleep in a rocking chair! How uncomfortable! We woke up around eight o’clock. I’m not sure why, but waking up during a sleepover is always an awkward moment, since the early bird has to check over on their friend to see if he/she is up yet. Plus, it is nearly impossible to tell whether someone is fake sleeping, resting, actually sleeping, fake resting, or just lying in bed. The signals are so screwed up, that early bird just has to wait for that other guy to make a move. My panic about “what to ask/what to say” finally ended around ten: we decided to actually get up. I enjoyed a nice bowl of cereal and freshened up for the day.

Can you believe the school week is coming back in two days? It is rather frightening to think about, since I’ve been away from academic thoughts for so long. I hope I didn’t knock out any brain cells! It’s going to take a little while to readjust, but I believe in myself.

Leave a Reply

