Childhood VII – Halloween


Halloween:
the epitome
of childhood.
An Unlimited
supply of candy.
Lugging that spooky

plastic pumpkin around. Seems as though there
is never enough space to store all that candy. A bottomless pit
of a bag is necessary to use to satisfy that unlimited sweet tooth. Returning
home, tired, late at night, weak, but most importantly, satisfied. Dumping the
pile on the living room table at seven o’clock at night. Theres no time to stop
for dinner, the trade must commence. “Will you trade me that Kit-Kat for  those
Snicker Bars?” “Can I have your Gummy Bears? I’ll give you my Three Musketeers.”
Mom plays that Charlie Brown Halloween Special as the long evening starts to unwind.
Halloween: the torture of adulthood. Waiting by the dressing room as junior tries on his
Pirate costume. Advertisements stressing the purchase of holiday decorations. Having
to come home early just to give out candy. Enjoying the special adult movie while
the kids are out. For only a few minutes, the sofa feels just so nice. Found the perfect
position on the cushion. And then it hits… DING-DONG!!! The dog starts barking
continuously as the house falls into chaos. Sprinting to the door as to not miss
another moment of the film. TRICK-OR-TREAT!!! Grabbing into the cauldron
of sugar-coated sugar-flavored sugar. Handing out the proper amount
to each little tike. Returning to the sofa, only to be forced
up repeatedly until the end of the long night
comes.

Gosh, I am going to miss those years of Halloween when I was little; to just go on a quest for candy with my buddies. It seems as though everyone was lacking the common sense that they could just eat the candy that Mommy bought at Walgreens instead of going out and getting some. Everyone went on a search to find the house that gave away those king-size chocolate bars, and I know that everyone thought in their head, “God D*mmit!” when that one family gave out caramel cubes as an excuse for candy. It was always hilarious how some people just left a giant candy bowl in front of their house with a little sign that said, “Please take two.” Eventually, someone would come around and snatch the entire bowl just for the heck of it, and that would be that. What I really hated were the candy corns that came on the shelves around October. I actually thought they were made of corn (yeah, I know), and so the idea of trying one disgusted me. It wasn’t until I was a lot older that I actually realized why so many people enjoyed them.

Probably the most important element of Halloween was how much I loved to wear costumes. I loved to dress up like my favorite superheroes when I was around five years old. I would even wear the costume when I went to sleep because I just loved being in character. I guess that is why I used to love acting when I was little, because I could have an out-of-body experience as another character. Every kid must have wanted to act. I don’t know where we all lost it: the sparks of creativity in artwork, singing, dancing, and acting. We used to love to get active and move around. That’s why they have playgrounds, so that little kids can release their energy. Anyway, that feeling just left one day without any notice. I know that feeling of creativity left a little when I was about ten.  What I really regret about Halloween is that I rarely chose a costume to wear after I lost that feeling inside. I mean, Halloween is just one day, so my parents always thought that I would have to wear the same costume next year. I think I know what it is; we are all falling to our peers, causing us to lose out costume-wearing spirit.

Decorations also played a huge part of what made Halloween so special. For our family, every year we would decorate by buying those fake spider webs that can be stretched over a bush or tree to make it look haunted. Even though it was always a huge mess to clean up afterward, it was our family tradition. My mom would always have us make decorations for the house using orange and black paper. My sister and I would cut it into different patterns to create paper lanterns and shades for the windows. Unfortunately, the paper lanterns would always deform and just fall off the string and the shades would always collapse days before Halloween. In the end, my dad would save the day and go out to buy last minute decorations for our house. I’ve always wanted to have a house that was extravagantly decorated in ornaments. I mean, to a level in which you can not even see the lawn because there are so many inflatables and what-not on the grass. We would actually spend time driving through neighborhoods during the night and hunt for houses with insane decorations.

Connor: I remember Halloween when I was a tot. I remember going to Spirit  (a costume store) with my mom and sister and picking out wacky costumes. When I was around three or four, I was Eeyore from Winnie the Pooh. I loved that costume so so so much that I wore it for two Halloweens in a row! I think I liked it so much because it looked like a dog costume (sort of) and everyone knows how much four year olds love dogs! More recently, however, my costumes have deviated from Disney cartoon characters. Last Halloween was uncomfortable for me, unfortunately. Even though I was a week from turning fourteen, I felt as though my trick or treating days were coming to a close. I wore an afro wig last year, by the way. I clearly remember one year, when I was about ten, when my sister, Mia, my parents, and I were trick or treating. We walked upon this vastly decorated house with just decorations galore. It was impossible to see the stucco of the house behind all the spiderwebs and fog machines. I wanted candy badly though, so I walked up to the front door where a cauldron of candy laid next to a skeleton or something in a black cloak. My sister then came to grab candy, after seeing that it was safe. She was about seven at the time. Anyway, as she put her hand in the cauldron; that skeleton that I thought was a prop… was actually a person. The man in the costume screamed so loudly that my sister dropped her candy and pumpkin bucket. It took my parents a good twenty minutes to calm Mia back down. I was just standing there all like wow, what just happened? That night was probably the spookiest Halloween experience I ever had. Surely, Mia still remembers it vividly.

Halloween is full of just so many memories of fun, food and fright that should not be put aside just because of mere age. It really doesn’t matter how old you are, there is some way to get in the holiday spirit. Please, don’t be that shut-in sitting at home thinking, “those pesky kids…” Instead, get out and greet kids in costume at the doorstep. It will save your sanity and will save yourself from constant interruptions. Most importantly, let your inner child out! Let that energy inside come out in praise of this youthful day!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A Collaborate Post
By Michael and Connor



6 responses to this post.

  1. Ahhh… I am satisfied with the way this one turned out 😀

  2. Posted by Connor on September 27, 2009 at 10:50 am

    its…. its….

    SENSATIONAL.

  3. idk how the heck u did the pumpkin but its awsome. the post made me remember some of my fav halloweens too.

  4. 🙂 thanks cord. The pumpkin was very, very difficult to make. I just had to divide up the text as evenly as possible to make it look more realistic. Then I colored the text in the end to show the face.

  5. Well, halloween is so fun until something creepy happens… and I’m not talking about ghouls or ghosts, like 5-10 years ago in New Jersey there was an old man that really hated children and put crushed glass on a caramel apple. That’s why its now illegal to sell homemade candy now. That’s why you only see the miniature snickers or milky way packets now. Jeez just thinking about that caramel apple makes my throat hurt, I think the kid that ate it lived and that guy is still in jail for sure.

  6. ooooh creepy! Hopefully it won’t happen again

Leave a Reply

