Holiday Party


holiday_party_1Hello everyone! This is Clonez, admin of skydays147 .wordpress .com. This morning I got my first snow day of winter: in real life and in Club Penguin. The Christmas Holiday Party started today. This was actually the first party that I have ever waited up for. In my opinion, it is a very nice one. Whatever holiday you are celebrating, I wish you a Merry Christmas, a Happy Hanukkah, and a Joyous Kwanzaa. There is something about this party that gives it such a zing, I am just not sure exactly what it was. I think it might be that warming feeling you get inside when you sit with friends around that fireplace in the coffee shop. It is set up so nicely; grab a bunch of friends and roast marshmallows over that fire because the cold build-up of snow is just a few feet away. I feel more invited at this party than I did at last years. In the 2007 party, I felt like I was some outcast because the decorations were made strictly for Christmas. I didn’t log on as much during the party because it made me upset. The week before I had sent holiday_party_2an email to Club Penguin asking for a menorah at the party and they had given me a very rude answer that it would cause a “conflict” if they had added one. It was like I could not follow anything what was going on; in a way, powerless. I feel at this one it is a lot more tolerant of other religions, and that is a really sweet thing for Club Penguin to do. It is just so friendly, and the large mounds of snow are something that everyone can enjoy, not just a select number of people. Although the free items at this party were ones that were brought back, it doesn’t totally ruin the party. You just have to appreciate the setting around you. I know I felt a little upset when only the Santa hat and beard came. But then again, it is a holiday party, and Club Penguin is letting everyone celebrate the tradition of Christmas by bringing them back. You never know, they may add another free item to the party like they did last year with the Christmas Scarf.  One of the rooms I love is the outside of the Dojo. Did you see the number of lights that were added on to it? It is suchholiday_party_3 extreme festivity that I had to comment on it. They all sparkle and shine when you enter the room. There is something about lights that really “lights up” the holiday season. I remember last year during the holiday time, my family would drive around the neighborhood and look at all of the different color lights that the houses put on. Some of them could be seen from a mile away; it was so bright. Okay, there is one other room that has to be mentioned: the cove. It is set up to be a paradise scene with palm trees and a sunset. Lets face it: the media describes the holidays as being “snowy,” which is not necessarily true. The point that this room is trying to make is that Christmas (or other winter holidays) can be celebrated anywhere around the globe and they are just as important as the ones in cold temperatures. The second reason they chose this was because of the southern hemisphere: it is summer there while it is winter here. So people who log on to Club Penguin in holiday_party_41Australia or possibly South Africa can have part of their warm weather during the party. I have to say, it is one of the most festive rooms at the party; it is very nice. I think they added the stage from the Music Party. I’m not too sure because it is a little different. The last room I would like to mention is the dance lounge, which has been transformed into a “Santas Factory” with a large conveyor belt in which toys are made. This is totally new for this party, and it is a pretty good idea that Club Penguin has come up with. The toy parts come down the chute and travel to a machine where they are made and boxed into nicely wrapped presents.  On the wall there is a picture of “Elf of the Month.” I laughed at that when I first saw it. How can you tell who that is? All of them look the same. I like how Club Penguin came up with the idea for the two arcade games in the room. They turned it into a video game system: very clever. I have to admit that I would have never thought of  them doing that. coins-for-changeCoins For Change is a huge part of what makes this Holiday Party so great. Not only during Christmas, but for other winter holidays too, donations are a huge part of the celebration. It is nice to see that Club Penguin is showing kids how important it is to donate. Instead of money, they donate coins of course. Not to ruin the parade, it isn’t really you who is donating money. It is the Club Penguin staff who is donating, and they are giving it to the different causes that you choose. I’m guessing when you donate 50, it is one vote; 250 is two votes; 500 is three votes. I have to say it is a pretty confusing method that they have set up. I’ve only donated a couple of times and I don’t even know if that influences the decision or not. Coins for Change is located is so many more rooms than last year, possibly because they want more people to give coins.

treasure-hunt

I felt like I needed to give some advice on the Treasure hunt game, because I haven’t done that in such a long time. The number one rule that I have that will help you earn more coins is to never dig in the far top/ bottom rows (or left/ right columns if you are second player). The reason is because it is harder to find the candy canes which are more points than the peppermints. When you go in the spot next to it, you can cover more ground and find the candy cane easier. Only go on the edges when you find that part of the candy cane is in that area. My second advice is to control the spaces in between your diggings. Do not leave a gap of two spots, because a candy cane could be in that area and you could miss it easily.  Finally, there is a rare in the game, and it is 2 by 2; it is a green ornament which is worth 100 points/coins. Make sure you don’t miss it. You can find it in about 1 in 10 games.

Overall Party Rating: ***

To finish up, I would like to wish everyone a great time during this two week winter break. Make it last, make it safe, and most importantly,  make it fun!

clonez_sig

21 responses to this post.

  1. Good post. Tons of info

  2. Posted by cppass on December 19, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Hey AWESOME post.
    come check out my blog
    ~Cppass

  3. Posted by smallfry12 on December 19, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Nice post Clonez.
    Happy Hanukkah & A Happy New Year to you Clonez.
    I’m really glad we met Clonez, you rock!
    And Happy Holidays everyone.
    ~Small Fry12~

  4. Hey Clonez!

    I’m sure glad you feel more included at this party. Now… to save time, I’m not going to say every little thing I dislike about the party and why. I’ll just say that
    1. The stuff seems randomly thrown around.
    2. Snow everywhere is not very exciting.
    3. It doesn’t give me a warm fuzzy feeling like last year.

    Anyway, I love love love your posts, you really put sooo much thought into them. x]

    Cool header, too. This is the first time I’ve ever seen a different header here… hehe.

    -Connor

  5. Posted by Corey828 on December 19, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    This party is pretty cool, much better than the last Christmas one. My favorite rooms are the coffee shop and the dance lounge.The “elf of the month” picture is similar to the jester and the knight picture in the dance lounge during the Medieval party. Another thing that looks like the Medieval party is the boiler room. I was dissapointed with the forest. Its usually decorated nicely. I wanted the trains to come back. Nice post!

  6. Posted by shadow126cp on December 19, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Hey uhh Sky, you know “Notes” widget that you made on the left side? Could you tell me how you got it all to line up right? Its pretty handy because if I make an update to a page that people don’t visit much people would have no idea that I updated it. If you don’t know exactly know what I’m saying I’ll try to explain better.

  7. there are a couple of HTML codes that I learned when I took (and still taking) computer science. So I used a couple of important ones. To center:
    use DIV ALIGN=”CENTER” …text goes here… /DIV
    some other common ones:
    Bold B …text… /B
    Underline U …text… /U
    Italics I …text… /I
    Enter Key BR
    Create a line HR
    you add the carrot symbols around them “<>”
    The table is a LONG story, just tell me if you want to make one and I could show you

  8. Posted by shadow126cp on December 20, 2008 at 10:27 am

    Intresting. Alright I think I got it. I should’ve known it was HTML. Thanks for the other ones too. I’ll give it a try and see how it works. Talk to you later.

  9. Posted by shadow126cp on December 20, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Yeah okay I don’t get it… I’m not good at HTML smallfry is though, maybe he can do it.

  10. Hey, just wondering, why’d you change the theme?

  11. Posted by shadow126cp on December 20, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Hey I did it! Its not as pretty as yours but it gets the job done! Thanks a lot! Gasp Shadow just did his first HTML. W00H00!

  12. Posted by shadow126cp on December 20, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Happy Hanukkah! The theme is cool. Its kinda funky but its cool.
    Wow I’m hyper!

  13. i was just trying out this theme to see how it is. It looks more like a newspaper when it is like this. I don’t know if it should be permanent or temporary

  14. Posted by shadow126cp on December 20, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Yeah I see what you mean. I think it should be temporary because… I don’t know. Maybe you should hold a poll if your undecided?

  15. Posted by smallfry12 on December 20, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Hey, Clonez, you know how you told Shadow how to do the Recent Updates thing, well now our site has weird font and I don’t know how to fix, so I was wondering if you could help me, Thanks.
    ~Small Fry12~

  16. Posted by shadow126cp on December 20, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Yeah I know! I noticed that too. Its all super thin and stuff. Its alright if you don’t know how to fix it though because its not that big a deal.
    Smallfry I did the blogroll too.

  17. Posted by smallfry12 on December 20, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Oh, that’s why the Blogroll looks different, I thought it was something to do with that weird font, ok thanks shadow, but the sites font is so weird its to skinny you know, well tell me if you know how to fix it Clonez, Thanks!

  18. oh i think i know why. It might have been because you used < PRE >; which means Pre-formatted text.

  19. Posted by shadow126cp on December 20, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    so how do we change it??? I’m confused

  20. Posted by smallfry12 on December 20, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    We don’t need to change it, it somehow got fixed, I really don’t know how, but it did, so it’s cool now, Thanks anyway Clonez!
    Happy Hanukkah Clonez.
    ~Small Fry12~

  21. Hi great site, must’ve took effort into making it. Different from my blog. You should check out the latest happening and posts going on! You don’t know what your missing out on!

Leave a Reply

