Rare Items Debate


Hello everyone! This is Clonez, administrator of skydays147.wordpress.com. One subject keeps coming up every time a new clothing catalog is released and that is rareness. We all like to show it, we all hate to see others show it. What is the big deal? Ok, here is our situation:

On March 7th, 2008, three very rare accesories were brought back to the catalogue: the brown fedora, the red sunglasses and the blue sunglasses. All three of them were last seen during 2006 and have been worn with great pride ever since. The same thing has been happening for months now and the rareness of items has decreased drastically. Let us take an extreme example: the christmas scarf. This was one of the FIRST items ever released. Everyone thought that it would remain rare until the end of time. I even thought that the day would never come. This is completely insane to many penguins from before December 2005.

My question is “should Club Penguin stop bringing back rare items?”

No
I have been a penguin ever since September 2006. It was getting to be very ridiculous having the same old people brag in front of everyones faces about how they went to the sports party, or collected the first pin, or whatever. Thats not the worst part about it. They wear the clothing in such an awkward way. The thing is, when you wear all the rare items at the same time, it looks completely out of fashion. But other people never think that, all they think is, “wow! Thats awesome!” Okay, reality check people: in the real world, everyone wants to stay in fashion to fit in. It seems like it is turning into the opposite on cp: the dorkiest penguins rule. To some newer penguins, they might actually want the item unlike you. They don’t care how old it is, but if they like it’s style, they will wear it. I have to admit, I do wear a “rare” style. People can not resist the urge and it is completely fine to wear at least something that brings back memories, but please, please, please do not over-do it! I completely favor bringing back rare items.

Yes
Being old should give you more freedom. Especially in Club Penguin. Because you joined in late 2005 or 2006 should mean that you are granted a rare item to make yourself stand out more from others. Having a rare item kind of helps you get more friends. I do not mean fans, like all the penguins who repeatedly ask you to be your buddy, but actual friends. You get to be able to recognize who started around the same time you did. You can think about the memories of parties and laugh about them. Letting newer penguins have the rare item you have completely ruins the effect. A rare item also raises a penguin’s social status. People will want to hang out with you more and for almost every beta tester, you become a one-man show. Everyone hollers your name when they see you, everyone knows you and respects you, dances around you and encourages you to put on your beta hat or some other item. I strongly feel Club Penguin should not bring back rare items
.

clonez_sig2.png

  What is your opinion?

I found out something that really was shocking, written by screenhog on club penguin staff:
“This question seems to come up quite often (more often shortly before and after a clothing catalog launches)… what items will come back into Club Penguin? Are there any clothing items that will never come back?The following items are not planned to ever come back:
– the party hats (beta test, 1st anniversary, etc.)
– pins
Every other player card item has the chance of coming back. Non-member items, member items, party items, backgrounds… every one will come back someday. They won’t all come back at once, of course, but they will come back.”

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chawchi on March 7, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    I do not think so, because then are they really that “rare”

  2. Posted by Corey828 on March 7, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    I dont think so either i want to see new items

  3. Posted by Sparky6464 on March 8, 2008 at 5:24 am

    youre just spoilt!!!
    ive been around since penguin chat 3 and i love to see the new plAYERS WEAR THERE NEW ITEMS!!! i never wear my rare items for the simple fact thats its just bragging!!!

    ~more at http://sparky6464.wordpress.com/

    oh and can i trade you some animation codes for the swf codes in the side bar???

  4. Posted by Sparky6464 on March 8, 2008 at 5:25 am

    ok and can i be on your blogroll?
    i will put u on mine!!!
    my website is http://sparky6464.wordpress.com/

  5. ummm, sure

  6. To put quite straight, I dont know wether or not they should bring thm back. when they come out I want to get them! but when I find someone with a beta item, I also get really excited because I want to put there picture on me and my sisters website! (you can see it by clicking my name) so please, do whatever you were going to do before you read this,UNLESS YOU WANT TO SEE OUR NAME THEN CLICK MY NAME!!!

  7. Posted by Sparky6464 on March 9, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Thanks!!!
    this blog is the best!!!
    so wat kind of animation would you like???
    ill send you the code by email, then paste it in a widget.
    but there copyright i make them myself so can u try and keep the code secret??? i also make advetisements! so once you tell me wat you want ill get to work! oh and about those swf codes will u also be sending them by email??? and youre on my blogroll now. oh and btw skydays used to be my buddy!!

  8. o thats awesome, where can I find you on cp?

  9. Posted by Sparky6464 on March 10, 2008 at 3:27 am

    mammoth, always mammoth lol!
    hey emm wanna help as an editor or admin on my site??? maybe me on yours too??? im like your biggest fan!!! if u dont remember me do you remember daisey4848??? we were your old buddies!!! oh and awesome site!!! i love it!!

  10. hmm… i think that does ring a bell…

  11. Posted by Sparky6464 on March 10, 2008 at 7:36 am

    lol
    so emm do you want be an admin???

  12. Sky i noticed im not an admin. I don’t mind. I’m use to it. Stay cool. Jt

  13. I think that cp should bring back old items. I have a penguin who has some really rare items. I think they should because some penguins like it to complete some outfit they like and new items keep it going! I think No.

    Warm regards,
    spongey

Leave a comment